Basically this is me…

What doesn't kill you DEFINITELY makes you stronger

Making Hard Decisions

on March 29, 2016

 

filofax

For over a year, my life has been wrecked by my body. As discussed in a previous post, I have been diagnosed with Bile Acid Malabsorption. Due to how sick I have been I have had a lot of time off work.

I had 7.5 months off work last year and I have been off sick since the end of January after a nasty relapse. My return to work in November was a disaster and I struggled to do my work and manage my symptoms. Since being on long term sick again I had to really think about what my body could handle mentally and physically. After speaking to my husband I knew going back wouldn’t be an option unless I went part time.

While all this was happening, I received a letter from my manager and HR asking that I attend an absence management meeting. On the day of the meeting, my stomach decided to give me hell and I wasn’t able to go. When I called to rearrange the meeting I was informed that my work were going to start the process of retiring me due to ill health.

I was flabbergasted and as you could probably gather in a state of shock. I just kept thinking i’m 30, i’m 30!!! The meeting was rearranged and I spoke to my union rep at length. This was on a Friday and the meeting wouldn’t be until the next Wednesday. I was a wreck, however luckily I had plans to do a tweet up with some twitter friends at the Harry Potter Experience in Watford and then I was spending a couple of days back home with my friends and family so it gave me a very good distraction until my meeting.

I went to my meeting and it was decided very early on that my illness wasn’t severe enough for it to retire me. I was glad about this as I am not ready to give up yet.

It was agreed that I could work part time. I was hoping to do 3 days a week, however they could only give me 2 and a half days a week.

In terms of my job, I was given three choices.

  1. Stay in current role- I knew this wouldn’t be an option as it is too much stress and my body wouldn’t be able to cope.
  2. Go for redeployment- however if after 4/6 weeks if I couldn’t find a suitable position I would lose my job due to ill health.
  3. Take a demotion, paycut and take on another role.

I have spent the last week going through every possible option, pros and cons, working out how it will affect our finances.

After speaking to my husband, family and friends for advice and making many many lists, I have decided to take the demotion. I need to put my health first. This way I can recover, get use to working again and hopefully have less stress in my life.

I am a big believer that things happen for a reason and there is a reason that this has happened. I have to keep reminding myself that this is a short term solution for a long term problem and I am really grateful to my work for supporting me.

I start my new job tomorrow and hopefully I will continue to improve and be able to gradually get my life back together.

Leave a Reply

